Biography Resources

Deloris Huerta, co-founder of the United Farm Workers and founding board mem

Dolores Huerta (see photo credit below)

Books

Browse the 921s by your subject’s last name and the 920s in the Reference section of the library.

 

eBooks

EWB ScientificBio

Databases

A list of passwords for remote use of databases is available in the library.

Salem History is a far-reaching view of history, offering worldwide coverage of important men and women in all areas of achievement.  This database is the online version of our Great Lives from History reference sets (found in the R 920s).

StudentResourcesInContextStudent Resources In Context is an engaging online experience for those seeking  information on a broad range of topics, people, places, and events. Includes primary source documents, images, videos, audio files and links to vetted websites.

ABC-CLIO Databases feature biographies of thousands interesting and important men and women — contemporary and historical– from around the world, with images, links to related articles and suggestions for further reading.

B_schoolEncyclopedia Britannica provides new and continually updated journal articles, primary-source material, multimedia (90,000 images, videos, and audio clips), links to 129,000 expert websites, and ebooks.

Web Sites

Use the Search Engines in the right-hand column to find high-quality, expert-selected web sites.

Sweet Search Biographies offers profiles and outstanding search results for thousands of famous-or infamous-people from many walks of life, professions and countries, spanning many centuries.

BookRags Biographies

Great Athletes of the 20th Century

The Galileo Project (biographies of scientists)

Literature Network Author Index

Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophers

European Graduate School (biographies of philosophers)

Biography

Index of Biographies, St. Andrew’s University

Artnet Artist Biographies

Infoplease

Biography Center

African American History

Distinguished Women of Past and Present

Hall of Black Achievement Gallery

The HistoryMakers

The Nobel Prize Internet Archive

New Advent (biographies of popes)

Was this pathfinder helpful?  Let us know in the comments box below!

Photo:  “Dolores Huerta, co-founder of the United Farm Workers and founding board member of the feminist Majority Foundation, during the Feminist Expo 2000 in Baltimore.” Hispanic American Almanac: A Reference Work on Hispanics in the United States, edited by Sonia Benson, 3rd ed., Gale, 2003. Student Resources in Context, http://link.galegroup.com/apps/doc/EJ2210061215/SUIC?u=bulldogs&xid=2921eb12. Accessed 20 Mar. 2018.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: