Ancient Cultures Research Project

"Illustration of the Aztec City of Tenochtitlan." Gale Student Resources in Context. Detroit: Gale, 1980. Student Resources in Context. Web. 14 Oct. 2016.

“Illustration of the Aztec City of Tenochtitlan.” Gale Student Resources in Context. Detroit: Gale, 1980. Student Resources in Context. Web. 14 Oct. 2016.

Books

To locate books in the library, search the AHS Online Catalog.

eBooks

gvrl-webGale Virtual Reference Library is a collection of reference eBooks for multidisciplinary research.  Find eBooks and articles about ancient cultures.

Databases

ABCCLIO World Hist AncABC-CLIO World History  Use the search box or check out the culture and time period links to find articles, biographies, images and more on the ancient civilizations.

Gale in Context: High School is a valuable tool for those seeking  information on ancient cultures from authoritative sources.  Includes images and other multimedia resources.

Gale Religion and Philosophy  is a collection of articles covering topics across a wide range of philosophies and religions. Gain valuable insight about the impact religion has had on culture throughout history, including literature, arts, and language.

B_schoolBritannica School online encyclopedia contains information about ancient cultures.  You can find multimedia resources and links to websites for your report.

other_IconsWith Britannica Image Quest you can access approximately three million copyright-cleared photos and illustrations from over 50 of the best collections in the world.  Each image includes a citation.

Web Sites

Research the top 50 major religious traditions, arranged by origin, on Patheos. For each, Patheos offers thorough, peer-reviewed, encyclopedic information that helps readers understand its origins, history, beliefs, rituals, ethics, and community structures.

screen-shot-2017-02-08-at-1-19-22-pmThe Metropolitan Museum of Art creates, organizes, and disseminates a broad range of digital images and data that document the rich history of the Museum, its collection, exhibitions, events, people, and activities.

Search Engines

Can’t find what you’re looking for in the databases?  Search the web using the search engines listed in the right-hand column of this page.  These search engines will help you find reliable web sites that have already been evaluated by experts!

%d bloggers like this: