Biography Resources

allpresidentsmed

Books

Browse the 921s by your subject’s last name

Biography collections in Reference include:

Science and its Times…………….. R 509 SCI

A to Z of Mathematicians…………….. R 920 MCE

World Religions – Biographies…………….. R 920 ONE

Women in World History…………….. R 920.21 WOM

Notable Mathematicians…………….. R 920.51 NOT

Great Lives from History (various series)…………….R 920s

Encyclopedia of the Medieval World…………….. R 940.1 ENG

Encyclopedia of the Enlightenment…………….. R 940.2 ENC

Encyclopedia of the Renaissance…………….. R 940.2 ENC

eBooks

Search Gale eBooks for eBook articles about notable people across time and disciplines.  Log into your Google account through the Gale interface to download articles and citations directly to your Google Drive.

Databases

A list of passwords for remote use of databases is available in the library.

Salem History is a far-reaching view of history, offering worldwide coverage of important men and women in all areas of achievement.  This database is the online version of our Great Lives from History reference sets (found in the R 920s).

Gale in Context: High School offers information on a broad range of topics, people, places, and events, and includes images, primary sources, video and audio files, and more.

ABC-CLIO Databases feature biographies of thousands interesting and important men and women — contemporary and historical– from around the world, with images, links to related articles and suggestions for further reading.

B_schoolEncyclopedia Britannica provides new and continually updated journal articles, primary-source material, multimedia (90,000 images, videos, and audio clips), links to 129,000 expert websites, and ebooks.

other_IconsWith Britannica Image Quest you can access approximately three million copyright-cleared photos and illustrations from over 50 of the best collections in the world.  Each image includes a citation.

Web Sites

Use the Search Engines in the right-hand column to find high-quality, expert-selected web sites.

BookRags Biographies

Great Athletes of the 20th Century

“Curie, Marie.” U*X*L Biographies. Detroit: U*X*L, 2010. Discover Collection. Web. 30 Apr. 2012.

The Galileo Project (biographies of scientists)

Literature Network Author Index

Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophers

Biography

Infoplease

Biography Center

Distinguished Women of Past and Present

The Nobel Prize Internet Archive

New Advent (biographies of popes)

Was this pathfinder helpful?  Let us know in the comments box below!

%d bloggers like this: