Kite Runner and Afghanistan (10th Gr. English)

The Kite Festival, on the Persian New Year or ‘Nowruz’, at Chaman-e-Uzuri, Kabul, Afghanistan. March 23, 2006.. Photography. Encyclopædia Britannica ImageQuest. Web. 9 Jan 2015.

You will be reading the novel The Kite Runner by Khaled Hosseini, and engaging in a research project to help you understand the complexities of the novel. The books and online databases listed below are excellent resources for doing academic research on your assigned topic. Use the “AHS Library Research Log” to keep track of the resources you use for your works cited list.

Print Resources

A cart with books about Afghanistan and topics related to The Kite Runner is available in the library for your research. Additional books can be found using the AHS Online Catalog.

eBooks

Search the Gale Virtual Reference Library for eBook articles about Afghanistan, the Taliban, Islam, and other topics related to The Kite Runner.

Databases

A list of passwords for remote use of databases is available in the library.

Bloom’s Literature offers a wealth of relevant content on the authors and works most studied in the high school curriculum. Includes essay topics, author interviews, full-text poems, character studies, full-length videos of classic plays and films, and much more.

Gale Student Resources in Context provides valuable information about Afghanistan from reference books, primary sources, magazines, and journals. Gale is also a great resource for maps and multimedia files. You can find information about author Khaled Hosseini here.

Britannica School online encyclopedia contains information about Afghanistan and Islam, including history, government, economy, and politics. You can find maps and multimedia resources for your report.

With Britannica Image Quest you can access approximately three million copyright-cleared photos and illustrations from over 50 of the best collections in the world. Each image includes a citation.

CultureGrams provides concise historical, social, cultural and statistical information about Afghanistan. Features include video clips and slideshows, a photo gallery, interviews with adults and children, and a recipe collection.