Mathematicians (Phillips)

Henri Poincare, French mathematician. Photography. Encyclopædia Britannica ImageQuest. Web. 29 Sep 2015.

Books

A cart with books about mathematicians is available for your research. To locate additional books in the library, check the AHS Online Catalog. You may also browse the shelves in these areas: 510 and R510 (Mathematics), and 920-921 and R920-921 (Biographies).

Databases

All database articles include citations. Be sure to select APA style.

Watch this short tutorial to learn how to easily download articles and citations from Gale databases to your Google Drive.

Gale eBooks is a collection of reference eBooks. Find biographical articles about mathematicians. Log into your Google account through the Gale interface to download articles and citations directly to your Google Drive.

ABC- CLIO Databases provide research resources about the modern and ancient history of the world. Search for articles and images of mathematicians. Check out the “Tools for Students” section for helpful tips and tutorials.

Salem History is an excellent source of biographical information on mathematicians from throughout history. Click on the “Remote Access Login” tab (ask a librarian for the password).

Student Resources in Context Log into your Google account through the Gale interface to download articles and citations directly to your Google Drive. Type your subject’s name in the Search box. Includes biographies from high-quality academic reference sources.

Britannica School After selecting High School, open the Biography Center and type “mathematics” in the “Known For” filter for articles, images, and other resources about mathematicians throughout history.

With Britannica Image Quest you can access approximately three million copyright-cleared photos and illustrations from over 50 of the best collections in the world. Each image includes a citation.