Controversial Issues

Essential Question:   How can I use my voice to express my opinions and personal beliefs through a convincing argument, while addressing and invalidating opposing viewpoints fairly, for an audience that may not agree with me?

 "Poster promoting vegetarianism." Image. PETA. Issues: Understanding Controversy and Society. ABC-CLIO, 2012. Web. 9 Feb. 2012.

“Poster promoting vegetarianism.” Image. PETA. Issues: Understanding Controversy and Society. ABC-CLIO, 2012. Web. 9 Feb. 2012.

Books

A cart with books about various controversial topics is reserved for your research.  Search the AHS library catalog for additional materials.

Databases

A list of passwords for remote use of databases is available in the library.

Watch this short tutorial to learn how to easily download articles and citations from Gale databases to your Google Drive.

Opposing Viewpoints in Context is an excellent source for information and opinions on hundreds of today’s hottest social issues.  Features continuously updated viewpoint articles, topic overviews, full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, primary source documents, statistics, images, videos, audio files and links to vetted websites.  Log into your Google account through the Gale interface to download articles and citations directly to your Google Drive.

Infotrac Newsstand  is a Web-based full-text newspaper database which allows users to search articles instantly by title, headline, date, newspaper section or other assigned fields. Use the Topic Finder to find issues related to your project topic.  Watch a short demo of Topic Finder hereLog into your Google account through the Gale interface to download articles and citations directly to your Google Drive.

Search Gale eBooks for eBook articles about your topic, including Supreme Court decisions and historical perspective.  Log into your Google account through the Gale interface to download articles and citations directly to your Google Drive.

other_IconsWith Britannica Image Quest you can access approximately three million copyright-cleared photos and illustrations from over 50 of the best collections in the world.  Each image includes a citation.

Web Sites

 

Search Engines

Citation Help (MLA)

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: