Fundamentalism

PERSEPOLIS (2007). Photography. Britannica ImageQuest, Encyclopædia Britannica, 25 May 2016.
quest.eb.com/search/144_1549621/1/144_1549621/cite. Accessed 5 Jan 2022.

Books

Books about Iran and Afghanistan and related topics are available in the library for your research.  A librarian will be happy to help you find books to use in your research.

Databases and eBooks

Ask your teacher or a librarian for the passwords for off-campus access.

Try using these keywords in your searches:  religious fundamentalism; Christian fundamentalism; Islamic fundamentalism; theocracy; churches and taxes

In Gale, choose “Filter Your Results” and select “Publication Date” to focus your research on the 1990s.

Watch this short tutorial to learn how to easily download articles and citations from Gale databases to your Google Drive.

other_IconsWith Britannica Image Quest you can access approximately three million copyright-cleared photos and illustrations from over 50 of the best collections in the world.  Each image includes a citation.

Gale Religion & Philosophy Collection  features a selection of more than 200 magazines and academic journals–everything from Anglican Journal to Zygon–covering religion and the related areas of philosophy and anthropology.  Log into your Google account through the Gale interface to download articles and citations directly to your Google Drive.

StudentResourcesInContextGale in Context: High School provides valuable information from reference books, primary sources, magazines, and journals.  Log into your Google account through the Gale interface to download articles and citations directly to your Google Drive.

Gale in Context: Opposing Viewpoints features continuously updated viewpoint articles, topic overviews, full-text articles, primary source documents, statistics, images, videos, audio files and links to vetted websites. Log into your Google account through the Gale interface to download articles and citations directly to your Google Drive.

Search Gale eBooks for eBook articles about Afghanistan, the Taliban, Iran, Islam, fundamentalism and other related topics.  Log into your Google account through the Gale interface to download articles and citations directly to your Google Drive.

abcclioABC- CLIO World History: The Modern Era   Search for articles about the Taliban in Afghanistan, the Iranian Revolution, and religious fundamentalism.  Check out the “Tools for Students” section for helpful tips and tutorials.

B_schoolBritannica School online encyclopedia contains information about Iran, Afghanistan and Islam.  Check out this collection of resources about Persepolis and this article about author Marjane Satrapi.

culturegramsCultureGrams provides concise historical, social, cultural and statistical information about Iran and Afghanistan. Features include video clips and slideshows, a  photo gallery, interviews with adults and children, and more.

 

Web Sites

Should Churches (Including Mosques, Synagogues, etc.) Remain Tax-Exempt? (ProCon.org)

Should Churches Get Tax Breaks? (NY Times – Room for Debate)

What If We Taxed Churches? (The Tax Foundation)

Taxation of Religious Entities (The First Amendment Encyclopedia)

Should America Tax Churches?  (Forbes)

 

Search Engines

Citation Help (MLA)

 

 

 

%d bloggers like this: